Ratings & Reviews ASA AR1 Silver w/Machined Lip

  • Vehicle: 2008 Saab 9-3 2.0T SportCombi
    Wheel Diameter: Not Provided
    5
    • Location:
      EAST PROVIDENCE, RI
    April 12, 2017
    I really love these wheels. I have a 2008 SAAB 9-3 SportCombi and to my surprise they didn't need hubcentric rings. They were an exact fit. So far have received only compliments on the wheels. Bought BF Goodrich 215/45R17 tires and it handles like a dream. Very satisfied with purchase.
    Was this review helpful? Yes | No
  • Vehicle: 1997 Chrysler Sebring JX Convertible
    Wheel Diameter: Not Provided
    4.4
    • Location:
      WEST CALDWELL, NJ
    22 out of 22 people found the following review helpful:
    June 25, 2015
    I bought these ASA AR-1's to replace a set of six spoke Sport Edition wheels that were so weak that any minor pothole hit caused them
    to deform and go noticeably out of round ( 3 out of 4 wheels were oval after 2 summers of use. )

    To combat this I searched for Low Pressure Cast wheels ( as opposed to weaker, cheaper gravity cast ) with the entire outer rim
    supported ( as opposed to 6 spokes with large unsupported gaps ) The 8 "Y" spoke, low pressure cast, AR-1 fit the bill at a reasonable price and has stayed round and kept its finish for 5 summers. The plastic imitation Allen Bolts around the rim that mimic a modular wheel
    have survived well, I could live without them but they look OK. In the future I will only purchase Low Pressure Cast wheels and wish
    Tire Rack would add the manufacturing process to their search engine to help weed out the gravity cast wheels.
    Was this review helpful? Yes | No
  • Vehicle: 2007 Mitsubishi Galant ES Standard Model
    Wheel Diameter: 16
    4.8
    • Location:
      TAMPA, FL
    1 out of 4 people found the following review helpful:
    June 04, 2015
    BEAUTIFUL, LUXURY!
    Was this review helpful? Yes | No
  • Vehicle: 2011 Hyundai Sonata 2.0T SE
    Wheel Diameter: 18
    4.7
    • Location:
      Columbus, Oh
    17 out of 21 people found the following review helpful:
    May 15, 2012
    These wheels arrived nicely packaged with a protective plastic rim around the machined front face and encased in a thin foam bag. All four wheels were undamaged. ASA even includes a good quality deep 3/8" socket! I had ordered the optional tire pressure sensors and was surprised that Tire Rack had installed them! The AR-1's are a beautiful wheel and, unlike other similar wheels, have a nice recessed machined lip. If you scrape a curb with these you will not damage the spokes, which is one of the main reasons I went with this wheel. These 7½" x 18" wheels have a 48mm offset as do the factory 18" alloys. Overall I couldn't be happier. At $160 these wheels are a real bargain! I had a BMW driver compliment them the other day!
    Was this review helpful? Yes | No
  • Vehicle: 2006 Dodge Magnum SXT Rear Wheel Drive
    Wheel Diameter: 18
    3.6
    • Location:
      Reynolds, In
    25 out of 26 people found the following review helpful:
    April 08, 2012
    The Wheels arrived double boxed with protective bags, nice, took them to the local Tire Barn to have mounted and filled with nitrogen again no problems. The wheels looked great, washed and waxed them for winter, now the problem, these wheels were washed sometimes twice a week and the clear coat still came off in patches the aluminum is black in the flaked off area, all four wheels have this problem. If I had wanted corroded wheels I would have left the OEM wheels on the car instead of paying $600 plus for these. I would not advise anyone to purchase these wheels.
    Was this review helpful? Yes | No
  • Vehicle: 2011 Mazda Mazdaspeed3
    Wheel Diameter: 18
    4.6
    • Location:
      Toronto, ON
    9 out of 10 people found the following review helpful:
    December 22, 2011
    I own a brand new 2011 Mazdaspeed 3 that came with summer tires (Dunlop 225/18/40).
    I decided to get a second set of OEM specs wheels with alloy rims and with deep grooves all season tires for winter driving.
    Therefore I have bought a set of ASA -AR1 wheels with 52 mm offset, 18 inch diameter, 7.5 inch wide , matching 100% the OEM specs of the car together with a set of Khumo Platinum LX tires (225/18/40).
    I highly recommend these wheels. Rims look great and they are lighter than OEM ones by 3LBS per wheel. Tires have good grip in frigid temperatures also they have 11/32 deep grooves (rare to find in this size.) Tires are also lighter by 1LBS than original Dunlop.
    Overall I am extremely happy with this combo – car handles great.
    I highly recommend the ASA-AR1 rims: 18inch/7.5inch/52mm for Mazdaspeed 3.
    Price is good – you will not be disappointed.
    Was this review helpful? Yes | No
  • Vehicle: 2006 Mazda MazdaSpeed6
    Wheel Diameter: 18
    3.6
    • Location:
      Calgary, Ab
    5 out of 6 people found the following review helpful:
    November 30, 2011
    Beautiful looking wheels! Installed them with winter tire package in 2006. Auto-crossed with a foot of snow on a gravel parking lot when new. The gravel took the clear-coat off in patches and then the aluminum underneath oxidized making the rims look old and patchy. So these rims are not suitable for gravel roads!
    Was this review helpful? Yes | No
  • Vehicle: 1999 BMW M Coupe
    Wheel Diameter: Not Provided
    4.4
    • Location:
      Portland, OR
    9 out of 9 people found the following review helpful:
    March 17, 2011
    IMO, more attractive than the OEM BMW Roadstars, although there are some people I know quite well who would disagree, like my SO. :) The finish on the wheels is very nice and has held up well. Of course it helps to clean them regularly and protect them w/ wheel wax. I think ASA makes a hell of a wheel, especially for the money. No need for spacers or hub centric rings, although I'm considering 10mm spacers in the rear for cosmetic purposes. I am very happy with these wheels.
    Was this review helpful? Yes | No
  • Vehicle: 2002 Volkswagen Jetta GL Tdi
    Wheel Diameter: Not Provided
    4.8
    • Location:
      Colorado Springs, CO
    3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful:
    January 27, 2011
    I own a 2002 Jetta TDI and I wanted to give the car new life. Instead of going into debt and getting a new car, I went with upgrading the car. Eibach Pro-System Kit, lowered the car 1"; new tinted windows; new dual din Kenwood radio/DVD receiver with integrated GPS and LCD touch screen. The new wheels are sweet looking and give the car a nice look. The larger size gave me the option to get bigger tires which gave me better handling performance. I bought them as a package with 225/45R17 General Altimax HP tires. A great wheel for a good price.
    Was this review helpful? Yes | No
  • Vehicle: 2007 Ford Focus ZX3 S
    Wheel Diameter: Not Provided
    4.2
    • Location:
      Clearwater, FL
    11 out of 12 people found the following review helpful:
    July 07, 2010
    Pros:

    Dramatic performance improvement over my stock 15"s, due to smaller tire.

    Very nice, perfectly even finish.

    Attractive design.

    Seem very sturdy and well built, no casting marks etc.

    Finish is easy to clean, but see cons.



    Cons:

    Less comfortable ride, again due to smaller tire.

    Very hard to clean around the inner lip, and impossible without a proper brush around the small decorative nuts around the lip.



    Overall I am very happy with this wheel. The handling of my car improved dramatically. Cornering stability is far improved, along with responsiveness. This is due to the change in tire size however. The rim is easy to clean except for the little lug nuts, and the painted finish doesn't easily show water spots. They look just as good now as they did a year ago when I put them on. I highly recommend waxing or sealing the rims to aid in keeping brake dust off and to make cleaning easier.
    Was this review helpful? Yes | No
  • Vehicle: 2008 Infiniti G35 Sedan Sport Package
    Wheel Diameter: Not Provided
    3.7
    • Location:
      Lansing, MI
    4 out of 9 people found the following review helpful:
    June 26, 2010
    Love the look but starting to see corrosion
    Was this review helpful? Yes | No
  • Vehicle: 2006 Mazda MazdaSpeed6
    Wheel Diameter: Not Provided
    3
    • Location:
      Calgary, Ab
    7 out of 8 people found the following review helpful:
    June 20, 2010
    I love the look of this rim on this car! However, I took it racing to a winter autocross event in a gravel parking lot. Although there was a ton of snow, the gravel got into my new rims. By the time spring came around you could see where the gravel had taken off the clear coat, as it was corroding in spotted areas all over the 4 wheels. I've had the rims 3 years now and they are looking very rough in terms of the finish.
    Was this review helpful? Yes | No
  • Vehicle: 2007 Ford Focus ZX4 SE
    Wheel Diameter: Not Provided
    4.6
    • Location:
      Media, PA
    1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful:
    June 03, 2010
    Like the fact that updated wheel hardware is included. Got away from the old style hubcap type acorn nuts and into some real ones that compliment the wheels. Like the socket and stems that came with, too... Tire Rack rocks!
    Was this review helpful? Yes | No

SERVICE WITH A SMILE

Need help choosing the right products for your vehicle? Our team of highly trained experts has
the knowledge and passion to help. Just pick up the phone and give us a ring.

Or let's chat via email. We love solving problems and lending a hand (or an ear).



Contact Us