Ratings & Reviews Kosei K1 Racing Silver Painted

  • Vehicle: 1997 BMW M3 Coupe
    Wheel Diameter: 17
    5
    • Location:
      WYOMISSING, PA
    October 30, 2017
    Great looking wheel that is super light weight. Hard to beat for the price.
    Was this review helpful? Yes | No
  • Vehicle: 1989 BMW 325i
    Wheel Diameter: 15
    5
    • Location:
      COLUMBIA, SC
    July 27, 2017
    Very good --- reliable wheel. Kensei K1 wheel is 3 Years now without any challenges or issues. I chose this wheel because it is lighter at 14.5 lbs and strong to replace older heavier 22 lb wheels. I took my E30 out for a good spin on some winding roads. Tirerack sold me the Wheel n TIre package with Yokahama S-Drive tires. Gas mileage and acceleration feels better too... with these lighter wheels. Only thing lacking was the Center Caps... I missed buying them during checkout. Wish TireRack would have somehow reminded me that I forgot this... and I would have bought them during checkout.
    Was this review helpful? Yes | No
  • Vehicle: 2003 BMW 330i Sedan Standard Model
    Wheel Diameter: Not Provided
    4.2
    • Location:
      danville, CA
    April 23, 2017
    Looks great, light weight, but out of 4 wheels I have had 2 develop significant cracks requiring replacement. The original set is about 4 yrs old. This car is used exclusively as a track car and driving to and from the track for about 10 - 12 track days a yr. Apparently durability is not the strong point with this wheel.
    Was this review helpful? Yes | No
  • Vehicle: 2000 Acura Integra LS
    Wheel Diameter: 15
    5
    • Location:
      null, null
    0 out of 4 people found the following review helpful:
    March 20, 2015
    After searching for awhile I could find a decent set of kosei k1's in Texas because someone had told me they got discontinued But I stumbled upon these on tire rack & without hesitation I bought them I was surprised how quickly they shipped and the free black acorn lugs were nice but I dI'd buy a set of spoon sports light weight lugs before I installed them
    Was this review helpful? Yes | No
  • Vehicle: 1998 BMW 328is
    Wheel Diameter: 17
    4.8
    • Location:
      Seattle, WA
    14 out of 16 people found the following review helpful:
    October 13, 2012
    I purchased 17x8.5" et40 Kosei K1 wheels a year ago from Tire Rack and have been very happy with them. Although I enjoy the occasional autocross and HPD event, my car is used as a daily driver. Before purchasing, I was a bit concerned about using them on a street driven car, and had read some older tales of cracking. So far, mine have held up to the demands of street driving, and I feel that the early tales of cracking are circumstantial. Ultimately, ANY larger diameter wheel with a lower profile tire will bend or break if you drive into a large pothole, and I don't feel the K1s are any more susceptible to damage in this regard. And while no wheel manufacturer will warranty damaged caused by potholes, Kosei does provide a 5-year warranty for structural integrity, which is nice peace of mind.

    I installed Hankook Ventus V12 Evo tires in 245/40ZR17 on all four corners, and the overall fitment on my E36 was spot on. I did not have to roll any fenders or use spacers, despite being slightly lower than a stock M3. In the front of the car, there is just enough room between the lower spring perch and the inner sidewall to safely allow for a bit of tire flex under heavy load, and the same is true for the rear between the outer sidewall and the fender lip - a 100% perfect fit. On an E36 with a stock or mildly lowered traditional suspension (i.e. non coil-over) such as mine, 245/40 is absolutely as wide as you can go with these wheels without spacers and fender rolling.

    Otherwise, despite not being the most beautiful wheels on the planet, I really like how these wheels look on my car. Rather than being flashy, they have a highly purposeful, track-oriented appearance to them which I appreciate. Since they have such an open design, the brakes are much more visible, making inspection very easy, but also showing off potentially unsightly rotor hubs and calipers.

    Ultimately, my experience with these wheels has been extremely positive. I'd definitely buy them again.
    Was this review helpful? Yes | No
  • Vehicle: 1999 Mazda Miata
    Wheel Diameter: 15
    4.8
    • Location:
      Normal, IL
    7 out of 11 people found the following review helpful:
    February 09, 2012
    I just a set of these on my Miata and love them. My buddy spec races Miata's and uses these wheels and I have always liked the way they look. Unlike the above reviews, these wheels are still 38mm offset so there are no rubbing issues. They are available in the 30mm offset but only if you mention that you want them in a different offset. I put on 205/50/15 tires and no issues. Looks like I could lowered it with no issues. Center caps are optional but I don't really mind it without them. Thanks Tirerack.
    Was this review helpful? Yes | No
  • Vehicle: 1997 Mazda Miata
    Wheel Diameter: Not Provided
    4.8
    • Location:
      Boston, MA
    5 out of 9 people found the following review helpful:
    June 26, 2011
    Update to my review. Note, this wheel has 30mm offset, changed from previous 38mm, so the wheels now stick out further than previous K1 Racing model. More impressions after additional time driving on the street. The low offset number has made steering effort more difficult. The wider wheel stance takes getting used to, resulting in some curb contact, ouch. 195 tires don't have the exposed sidewalls to protect 7 inch rims from scratching. If autocrossing, I would surely be clipping more cones than before due to the widened car stance! On a Miata, even light, star spec Dunlop tires feel heavy, so spending more on lighter (sub 10 lb) Enkei racing wheels is worth consideration.
    Was this review helpful? Yes | No
  • Vehicle: 1988 BMW M3
    Wheel Diameter: Not Provided
    4.2
    • Location:
      Milton, MA
    3 out of 4 people found the following review helpful:
    June 21, 2011
    Excellent wheel! The de-facto standard 15" upgrade wheel for the BMW E30 M3 - this is well settled over many years by many people.



    Correct fitment for the car - centering rings not required.

    Light weight and strong.



    narrow spokes allow for easy brake inspection.



    the only drawback to this wheel is the stepped lip and square-ish spokes allow brake dust and tire worms and residue to collect in the corners, which can be difficult to get really clean.



    For all around use, street or track, they are light, strong and cheap.



    For a pure street use wheel only I would get something a little more stylish, but that is purely subjective anyways.



    I have three sets of these, and should never have sold the 4th set I used to have.
    Was this review helpful? Yes | No
  • Vehicle: 1997 Mazda Miata
    Wheel Diameter: Not Provided
    4.5
    • Location:
      Boston, MA
    1 out of 2 people found the following review helpful:
    May 27, 2011
    Buying the racing Kosei K1 version was a mistake for me and likely most of you. It is a little less expensive than the K1 TS, but that is because center caps are not included, or appropriate for the race track. Adding them will cost extra! My 15x7 wheels on a 97 Miata nearly contact the fenders even with narrowest 195/50-15 tires for the wheel, due to 30mm offset. This widens the stance of the car, but leads to higher wheel bearing stress and possible failure. The minimal spoke area lets one easily inspect brakes and pads. For the street, you will likely want rotor centers and calipers painted with hi temp paint and looking good, because they will be very visible! Good excuse for getting a big brake modification with alloy calipers! My wheels were made in Thailand, not Japan, but are still top quality. Stock Miata steel lug nuts are much lighter than free ones included in the package, but result in scraping the wheel's paint. The nut's seat area is not high/wide enough. Using new, shiny ones was an easy sacrifice. In all, these beautiful wheels make the rest of my old car with faded paint look bad and in need of TLC, brake caliper paint and center caps. My ugly stock wheels now stay on the snow tires. Great wheels at a very reasonable price.



    For the street, the TS version instead of racing will be better. Its 38mm offset better centers the tire within the wheel well, allowing 205/50-15 and lowering with stock fenders. 45mm offset is stock for the 14x6 wheel. I do like the spoke design of the racing version better than the K1 TS.



    Still, these are great wheels, and with sticky summer tires, the car is glued to the road. I have upgraded shocks, but now need upgraded anti-roll bars to use the grip. Given the grip and 185 stock tire width, 195 is plenty wide. 205 is just heavy and harder to heat to working temps. Huge diameter wheels and no tire sidewall is a silly fad. Do you see this on F1, Indy, or other race cars? No. Big wheels and tires are for show, not go.
    Was this review helpful? Yes | No
  • Vehicle: 1993 Nissan NX2000
    Wheel Diameter: Not Provided
    4.7
    • Location:
      Douglaston, NY
    2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful:
    March 24, 2011
    Great wheels! Have mine for almost 8 years now. Light, not so expensive, durable, easy to clean...looks awesome.
    Was this review helpful? Yes | No

SERVICE WITH A SMILE

Need help choosing the right products for your vehicle? Our team of highly trained experts has
the knowledge and passion to help. Just pick up the phone and give us a ring.

Or let's chat via email. We love solving problems and lending a hand (or an ear).



Contact Us