• Vehicle: 1997 BMW 328i
    Wheel Diameter: 15
    4.8
    • Location:
      MONTROSS, VA
    October 31, 2017
    Really impressed with this wheel. It perfectly mimics a stock BMW design, is easy to clean, has a better offset than my original ten spoke wheels, and just plain looks more sporty. Oh, and they are lighter than the originals. I just wish there was an aftermarket BMW or something better for a center cap than the stock caps. They slightly detract from the look.
    Was this review helpful? Yes | No
  • Vehicle: 1990 BMW 735i
    Wheel Diameter: 15
    4.8
    • Location:
      NORTH HUNTINGDON, PA
    October 27, 2016
    Very nice wheels for the price. They sat in a little close to my struts for being OEM, but I knew the offset was a bit different.
    But they worked. Doc was a very big help in making things right for me, when I had a slight issue with lug nuts. He was on it fast, and took care of me...... Would buy from the tire rack again!
    Was this review helpful? Yes | No
  • Vehicle: 1998 Toyota Corolla LE
    Wheel Diameter: Not Provided
    4.2
    • Location:
      COVENTRY, RI
    April 15, 2016
    4/15/2016- This is an update to my previous review on the Special Edition F5 wheels packaged with General Altimax RT43s. After driving on them for 1 yeasr and 9 months (about 20,000 miles) this is my summary so far.


    THE SPECIAL EDITION F5 WHEELS... I GIVE THEM A 3.75 STAR RATING OUT OF 5 STARS.

    The four F5 Special Edition wheels I purchased still look good. They still give the car a much peppier look than the original steelies. Only one has any slight paint damage from a stone or other impact- it's not noticeable. Here's the only only problems.

    1. THE VALVES... Chinese-made rubber valve stems don't seat well in the valve holes of the F5 wheels. I kept losing tire pressure with the low quality rubber valves that came with the wheels and also with the valves the tire store installed. It was intermittent when they'd lose air, but when I touched the valve at all, you could hear it leak. All of a sudden I'd have 15lbs. of air in one of my tires. I mostly solved this problem when I made the tire store install Gorilla rubber stems I bought at Walmart. These were better quality, but now in hindsight, I'll use metal screw-down racing stems for these wheels from now on. That will hopefully solve this issue totally. I'm not sure if the wheel's valve holes are just machined wrong or all press-in valves stink these days?

    2. THE PAINT... The recessed holes for the valve stems have lost their silver paint, probably from the valves bending at high speeds.

    3. CLEANING... If you have greasable ball joints, the excess grease will drip onto the inside of the wheel and causes balance issues. Due to this, I bought ProForged non-greasable ball joints which not only solved the mis-balance problem, but made it so I don't need to clean the wheels as much. Ceramic brake pads also make for a dust-free wheel.

    4.THE GENERAL RT43 TIRES... They have worn evenly through year-round highway use, but I have recently noticed deep-puddle hydroplaning. I don't rotate these tires front to rear.
    Was this review helpful? Yes | No
  • Vehicle: 1998 Toyota Corolla LE
    Wheel Diameter: 14
    4.8
    • Location:
      COVENTRY, RI
    3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful:
    July 20, 2014
    I installed four 14x6 Sport Edition F5 wheels on my 1998 Corolla LE. I bought a full package from Tire Rack that included four General Altimax RT43s mounted and "Hunter RoadForce" balanced. I can't say much good about the Hunter balancing as one of the weights on one wheel was thrown when I received the tire/wheels by UPS delivery. I called the TR Customer Service and told them one of the weights was dangling. They said no problem.... go to one of their specified tire installers and have it rebalanced, and TR would pay for it. Cool! The thing is, Long Distance Tire did a MUCH better job of balancing the tire with a weight that swedged onto the rim, not some double-sided taped lead weight that could easily come off, like on the wonderful Hunter Balancing bologna TR raves about as their free service. I think it's total BS. Anyway, Long Distance Tire balanced it for free, which I have no idea why. And I didn't even tell them I bought the tire/wheel from TR.

    Anyhooooo.... this tire and wheel package is so far wonderful after 300 miles. I drive 100 miles per day, and the orig steel wheels were HORRIBLE compared to these. The car now drives perfectly smooth and straight as it should, especially on the highway, which is most of my travel. Last year, I installed Bilstein B4 struts and all top notch front-end parts. Now, finally, the car can fully take advantage of these mods. The F5 wheels look SO much better than the steelies and they are a breeze to clean (or Plasti-Dip). The car looks peppier and is more spry and confident in the corners with the new RT43s. I highly recommend this package, especially if you do it while there's a General $50. tire rebate, like I got. This brings my entire package of wheels and tires down to $639.98. Can't beat that! It even came with all the chrome acorn mounting lugs and a Gorilla extension for your lug wrench, which you will need for these wheels.
    Was this review helpful? Yes | No
  • Vehicle: 2007 Hyundai Elantra GLS
    Wheel Diameter: 15
    4.4
    • Location:
      Aiken, SC
    3 out of 4 people found the following review helpful:
    November 21, 2012
    These are Cheap gravity cast rims but they look way better than the stock steel rims/hubcaps it had. I wanted an easy to clean rim that showed off the 4 wheel disc brakes. These fit the bill. My Elantra is pearl black so the rims look good against the black body.
    I also had Tire Rack install the Bridgestone Potenza RE960as Pole position tires with them.
    I haven't driven it hard yet until the tires break in but it already rides and drives better that the stock tires and steel rims. At 16 lbs they are some of the lighter rims.
    I am happy with the tires/rims and Tire Rack.
    One note is that they came with black valves and not silver. That would be my only complaint. It looks a little out of place having the black valve stem in the silver rim.
    Ordered Friday, got Monday. They shipped from Georgia. Very fast delivery.
    Was this review helpful? Yes | No
  • Vehicle: 2006 Volkswagen Passat Sedan 2.0T
    Wheel Diameter: 17
    4.5
    • Location:
      Oakhurst, NJ
    7 out of 8 people found the following review helpful:
    October 11, 2012
    I bought these wheels to use with Summer tires primarily because the original wheels while nice when new, really went downhill in appearance, pealing clearcoat, corrosion, ugh! I'm keeping them for the winter. Anyway, these look great, clean up easily, and were a good value. Exactly what I was looking for.
    Was this review helpful? Yes | No
  • Vehicle: 2008 BMW 135i Cabriolet Sport Package
    Wheel Diameter: 17
    5
    • Location:
      BUFFALO, NY
    15 out of 17 people found the following review helpful:
    January 17, 2012
    Bought these wheels to mount a new set of Bridgestone Blizzak runflats on. I was looking for the cleanest possible design to make washing as easy as possible during the winter while retaining the aggressive stance of my 135ic. They're winners on both counts. They do a great job of both counts. Their open spoke design do a great job of showing off the cars 6-pot disks and make cleaning the slush and salt off with a high pressure coin wash an absolute breeze. To finish them off, I purchased a set of BMW logo tin stickers to mount on the centre caps. For all intents and purposes they look like a set of limited edition OEM wheels. Very impressive.
    Was this review helpful? Yes | No

SERVICE WITH A SMILE

Need help choosing the right products for your vehicle? Our team of highly trained experts has
the knowledge and passion to help. Just pick up the phone and give us a ring.

Or let's chat via email. We love solving problems and lending a hand (or an ear).



Contact Us